logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Main Competition 16+

MS Slavic 7

Sofia Bohdanowicz, Deragh Campbell
A young woman visits Harvard University library, where she studies the correspondence between the Polish poet Zofia Bohdanowiczowa – her great-grandmother – and the Nobel Prize nominee Józef Wittlin. MS Slavic 7 is the library reference code for the box containing their letters, which she is intended to publish. Both Bohdanowiczowa and Wittlin were forced to flee the Nazis and emigrate to North America, the former to Toronto and the latter to New York. They were in love, but their relationship was destined to be consummated on paper alone. Who holds the claim to another’s past? Is it ethical to publish details of the private lives of the dead? And what matters more: the search for one’s own identity, or relationships with the family in the present? Fiction and biography are closely intertwined in this reflective post-mumblecore work from two raising stars of Canadian film, Sofia Bohdanowicz and Deragh Campbell. Audrey, who is played by Campbell, is a recurring character in Bohdanowicz’s cinematic universe, but it is here that the actor makes her debut as a fully-fledged co-author.

Sofia Bohdanowicz is a filmmaker from Toronto. In 2017, the Toronto Film Critics Association awarded her the Jay Scott Prize and in 2018 she was nominated for the Rogers Best Canadian Film Award for her documentary Maison du Bonheur. Her second fiction feature film, MS Slavic 7, which is co-directed with actor Deragh Campbell, graced the cover of Cinema Scope, premiered at the Berlinale and was featured at the Harvard Film Archive.

Sofia Bohdanowicz is a filmmaker from Toronto. In 2017, the Toronto Film Critics Association awarded her the Jay Scott Prize and in 2018 she was nominated for the Rogers Best Canadian Film Award for her documentary Maison du Bonheur. Her second fiction feature film, MS Slavic 7, which is co-directed with actor Deragh Campbell, graced the cover of Cinema Scope, premiered at the Berlinale and was featured at the Harvard Film Archive.

Deragh Campbell was born in Toronto in 1989. She studied creative writing and has worked both as an actor and screenwriter. MS Slavic 7 is her first feature film as co-director. Her performance credits include the TIFF 2019 selection Anne at 13,000 Ft., which earned her a Canadian Screen Award nomination for Best Actress. In January 2020, she won the Toronto Film Critics Association’s Jay Scott Prize.

Deragh Campbell was born in Toronto in 1989. She studied creative writing and has worked both as an actor and screenwriter. MS Slavic 7 is her first feature film as co-director. Her performance credits include the TIFF 2019 selection Anne at 13,000 Ft., which earned her a Canadian Screen Award nomination for Best Actress. In January 2020, she won the Toronto Film Critics Association’s Jay Scott Prize.

Year of production:
2020
Country:
Canada
Length:
64'
Language:
English
Subs:
Russian
Director:
Sofia Bohdanowicz, Deragh Campbell
Script:
Sofia Bohdanowicz, Deragh Campbell
Producers:
Sofia Bohdanowicz, Deragh Campbell, Calvin Thomas
Cinematography:
Sofia Bohdanowicz
Cast:
Deragh Campbell, Elizabeth Rucker, Mariusz Sibiga, Aaron Danby
Trailer

logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Основной конкурс 16+

МС Славик 7

София Богданович, Дера Кэмпбелл
Молодая девушка посещает библиотеку Гарвардского университета, где изучает переписку польской поэтессы Зофьи Богданович, своей прабабушки, с номинантом Нобелевской премии по литературе Юзефом Виттлином. «МС Славик 7» — библиотечный код коробки с их письмами, которые она намерена опубликовать. Оба вынуждены были бежать от нацистов и эмигрировать в Северную Америку: она — в Торонто, он — в Нью-Йорк. Они были влюблены друг в друга, но их отношениям суждено было реализоваться лишь на бумаге. Кому принадлежит чужое прошлое? Этично ли делать достоянием общественности детали частной жизни умерших? И что важнее: поиск собственной идентичности или отношения с близкими в настоящем? Игровое и биографическое тесно переплетены в этом рефлексивном постмамблкоре восходящих звезд канадского кино Софии Богданович и Деры Кэмпбелл. Одри в исполнении последней — сквозной персонаж киновселенной Богданович, но именно здесь актриса впервые выступает полноценным соавтором.

София Богданович — режиссер из Торонто. В 2017 году Ассоциация кинокритиков Торонто присудила ей премию Джея Скотта, а в 2018-м она была номинирована на премию Роджерса в номинации «Лучший канадский фильм» за документальную картину Maison du Bonheur. Ее второй полнометражный игровой фильм «МС Славик 7» — совместная режиссерская работа с актрисой Дерой Кэмпбелл — украсил обложку Cinemascope и был показан в Гарвардском киноархиве. Премьера фильма состоялась на Берлинале.

София Богданович — режиссер из Торонто. В 2017 году Ассоциация кинокритиков Торонто присудила ей премию Джея Скотта, а в 2018-м она была номинирована на премию Роджерса в номинации «Лучший канадский фильм» за документальную картину Maison du Bonheur. Ее второй полнометражный игровой фильм «МС Славик 7» — совместная режиссерская работа с актрисой Дерой Кэмпбелл — украсил обложку Cinemascope и был показан в Гарвардском киноархиве. Премьера фильма состоялась на Берлинале.

Дера Кэмпбелл родилась в Торонто в 1989 году, изучала творческое письмо и литературу, является актрисой и сценаристкой. «МС Славик 7» — ее первый художественный фильм в качестве сорежиссера. Среди ее актерских работ — показанный в Торонто фильм «Анна на 13 000 футов», принесший ей номинацию Канадской кинопремии за лучшую женскую роль. В январе 2020 года получила премию Джея Скотта Ассоциации кинокритиков Торонто.

Дера Кэмпбелл родилась в Торонто в 1989 году, изучала творческое письмо и литературу, является актрисой и сценаристкой. «МС Славик 7» — ее первый художественный фильм в качестве сорежиссера. Среди ее актерских работ — показанный в Торонто фильм «Анна на 13 000 футов», принесший ей номинацию Канадской кинопремии за лучшую женскую роль. В январе 2020 года получила премию Джея Скотта Ассоциации кинокритиков Торонто.

Год:
2019
Страна:
Канада
Длительность:
64'
Язык:
Английский
Субтитры:
Русские
Режиссер:
София Богданович, Дера Кэмпбелл
Сценарий:
София Богданович, Дера Кэмпбелл
Продюсеры:
София Богданович, Дера Кэмпбелл, Келвин Томас
Оператор:
София Богданович
В ролях:
Дера Кэмпбелл, Элизабет Ракер, Мариуш Сибига, Аарон Дэнби
Трейлер