En / Ru
logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Made in Russia 18+

Summer

Vadim Kostrov
Summer is a nostalgic journey through the director’s hometown of Nizhny Tagil with eight-year-old Vadim and his half-sister Kristina. This film is a memory and a reverie in which the images of childhood emerge out of the darkness and materialise through the subtle use of cinematic language. Kostrov shoots every film he makes on a new camera, in this case a MiniDV. He studied it for months, learning its technical properties and examining how it captures the sunrise, the sunset and the colours of his hometown. The result of these studies is an ephemeral effect, achieved without any manipulation of the material in post-production. The subdued imagery, pauses and dips in the footage comprise the dreamy fabric of this film. The border between fiction and document is shaky, as improvising actors lives their lives on screen while resurrecting the director’s childhood memories.

Born in 1998 in Nizhny Tagil. In 2017 he began studying at the Russian State Institute of Cinematography (VGIK), but dropped out in 2018. He then shot his first feature-length documentary film Cherdak-Underground on VHS, telling the story of the Russian underground of the 1980s and 1990s. Returning regularly to the Urals, Vadim created Summer (2020), Winter (2021) and the documentary trilogy Narodnaya. Summer was given a special jury mention at Sheffield Doc/Fest 2021, while his earlier work Orpheus (2019) was presented in the competition at FIDMarseille.

Born in 1998 in Nizhny Tagil. In 2017 he began studying at the Russian State Institute of Cinematography (VGIK), but dropped out in 2018. He then shot his first feature-length documentary film Cherdak-Underground on VHS, telling the story of the Russian underground of the 1980s and 1990s. Returning regularly to the Urals, Vadim created Summer (2020), Winter (2021) and the documentary trilogy Narodnaya. Summer was given a special jury mention at Sheffield Doc/Fest 2021, while his earlier work Orpheus (2019) was presented in the competition at FIDMarseille.

Year:
2021
Country:
Russia
Length:
109'
Language:
Russian
Subtitles:
English
Director:
Vadim Kostrov
Script:
Vadim Kostrov
Producer:
Gleb Piryatinskiy
Camera:
Vadim Kostrov, Artyom Nilov
Cast:
Vova Karetin, Mira Talanova, Gosha Gordienko, Nelya Vyvodnova
Production:
Mal de Mer Films
Made in Russia
Independent and formally experimental Russian films
Learn more

En / Ru
logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Сделано в России 18+

Лето

Вадим Костров
«Лето» — ностальгическое путешествие по родному для режиссера Нижнему Тагилу с восьмилетним Вадимом и сводной сестрой мальчика Кристиной. Фильм-воспоминание, фильм-греза, в котором образы детства проступают из темноты и материализуются благодаря тонкой работе с киноязыком. Каждую свою работу Костров снимает на новую камеру, в данном случае — miniDV, чьи технические возможности он изучал не один месяц, исследуя, как она запечатлевает рассвет, закат и палитру родного города. Итог этих штудий — эффект эфемерности, достигнутый без каких-либо манипуляций с материалом на постпродакшене. Приглушенные образы, паузы, западания составляют сновидческую ткань этого фильма. Граница вымысла и документа шаткая: импровизирующие актеры проживают в кадре свою жизнь и в то же время воскрешают детские воспоминания режиссера.

Родился в 1998 году в Нижнем Тагиле. В 2017-м поступил во ВГИК, но в 2018-м прекратил учебу. После этого снял на VHS первый полнометражный документальный фильм «Чердак-Андеграунд», повествующий об истории русского андеграунда 1980–1990-х. Регулярно возвращаясь на Урал, Вадим создал фильмы «Лето» (2020), «Зима» (2021) и документальную трилогию «Народная». В 2021 году фильм «Лето» удостоен особого упоминания жюри на фестивале Sheffield Doc/Fest, более ранний «Орфей» (2019) представлен в конкурсе фестиваля FID Marseille.

Родился в 1998 году в Нижнем Тагиле. В 2017-м поступил во ВГИК, но в 2018-м прекратил учебу. После этого снял на VHS первый полнометражный документальный фильм «Чердак-Андеграунд», повествующий об истории русского андеграунда 1980–1990-х. Регулярно возвращаясь на Урал, Вадим создал фильмы «Лето» (2020), «Зима» (2021) и документальную трилогию «Народная». В 2021 году фильм «Лето» удостоен особого упоминания жюри на фестивале Sheffield Doc/Fest, более ранний «Орфей» (2019) представлен в конкурсе фестиваля FID Marseille.

Год:
2021
Страна:
Россия
Длительность:
109'
Язык:
русский
Субтитры:
английские
Режиссер:
Вадим Костров
Сценарий:
Вадим Костров
Продюсер:
Глеб Пирятинский
Камера:
Вадим Костров, Артём Нилов
В ролях:
Вова Каретин, Мира Таланова, Гоша Гордиенко, Неля Выводнова
Производство:
Mal de Mer Films
Сделано в России
Независимое и экспериментальное по форме национальное кино
Узнать больше