En / Ru
logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Jury Selection 18+

Give Me Back the Propeller

Masha Godovannaya
An idiosyncratic personal reflection on a mythical image of masculinity in cinema and the clash between cinematic representation and real life. Endlessly repeated shots of aeroplanes and paratroopers taken from Alexander Dovzhenko’s film Aerograd (1935) and an absurd anthem to mythical masculine powers are confronted by home video footage with a much less heroic intonation.

Born in 1976 in Moscow. In 1995 she moved to New York, where she studied film production at Brooklyn College and worked at the Anthology Film Archives. Godovannaya holds an MFA in film and video from Bard College and a master’s in political science and sociology from the European University at Saint Petersburg. She is the creator of a number of experimental films, installations and performances that have been presented at international festivals and exhibitions including the Liverpool Biennial, Manifesta 10, the Centre Pompidou and film festivals in London, Rotterdam and Oberhausen. She has independently curated various film and video projects, and is the co-founder of the queer-feminist affinity art group Unwanted Organisation. In 2016 she began studying for a PhD in Practice at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. She lives and works in Vienna.

Born in 1976 in Moscow. In 1995 she moved to New York, where she studied film production at Brooklyn College and worked at the Anthology Film Archives. Godovannaya holds an MFA in film and video from Bard College and a master’s in political science and sociology from the European University at Saint Petersburg. She is the creator of a number of experimental films, installations and performances that have been presented at international festivals and exhibitions including the Liverpool Biennial, Manifesta 10, the Centre Pompidou and film festivals in London, Rotterdam and Oberhausen. She has independently curated various film and video projects, and is the co-founder of the queer-feminist affinity art group Unwanted Organisation. In 2016 she began studying for a PhD in Practice at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. She lives and works in Vienna.

Year:
2009
Country:
Russia
Length:
20'
Language:
Subtitles:
Director:
Masha Godovannaya
Jury Selection
Films by directors on the international jury
Learn more

En / Ru
logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Фильмы жюри 18+

Верни мне пропеллер

Маша Годованная
Личное размышление о мифическом образе мужественности в кино и столкновении между кинематографическим представлением и реальной жизнью. Бесконечно повторяющиеся кадры самолетов из фильма «Аэроград» (1935) Довженко, сопровождаемые абсурдным гимном, сталкиваются с не столь героическим домашним видео.

Родилась в 1976 году в Москве. В 1995 году переехала в Нью-Йорк, обучалась кинопроизводству в Бруклинском колледже и работала в Anthology Film Archives. Обладательница степени MFA по кино и видео Бард-колледжа, магистра политических наук и социологии Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге. Создательница экспериментальных фильмов, инсталляций, перформансов, представленных на международных фестивалях и выставках: Ливерпульской биеннале, «Манифеста-10», в Центре Помпиду, на кинофестивалях в Лондоне, Роттердаме, Оберхаузене и т. д. Независимый куратор кино- и видеопроектов. Соосновательница квир-феминистской аффинити-арт-группы «Нежелательная организация» (Санкт-Петербург). В 2016 году поступила на программу PhD in Practice Венской академии изящных искусств. Живет и работает в Вене.

Родилась в 1976 году в Москве. В 1995 году переехала в Нью-Йорк, обучалась кинопроизводству в Бруклинском колледже и работала в Anthology Film Archives. Обладательница степени MFA по кино и видео Бард-колледжа, магистра политических наук и социологии Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге. Создательница экспериментальных фильмов, инсталляций, перформансов, представленных на международных фестивалях и выставках: Ливерпульской биеннале, «Манифеста-10», в Центре Помпиду, на кинофестивалях в Лондоне, Роттердаме, Оберхаузене и т. д. Независимый куратор кино- и видеопроектов. Соосновательница квир-феминистской аффинити-арт-группы «Нежелательная организация» (Санкт-Петербург). В 2016 году поступила на программу PhD in Practice Венской академии изящных искусств. Живет и работает в Вене.

Год:
2009
Страна:
Россия
Длительность:
20'
Язык:
Субтитры:
Режиссер:
Маша Годованная
Фильмы жюри
Собственные работы режиссеров, вошедших в международное жюри
Узнать больше