logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Echo of II NHIDFF in Moscow 18+

Residue

Мерави Герима
17 October  20:30
Illuzion Cinema
20:30
TICKETS
Watch
Jury Award in the Main Competition. Washington native Jay returns to his old African American neighbourhood to shoot a film about the area and its residents after studying directing in California. The streets he grew up on turn out to be unrecognisable, however, and old acquaintances greet him with scepticism and ridicule: “You thought a film could save us? Or did you see yourself as an archeologist, coming to unearth our bones from the concrete?” New white faces, out of place and unfamiliar but more real than what Jay had hoped to find, joyless friends, friends who have left, friends in prison, places that are no longer his own – the spaces portrayed in Residue are filled with the figures of absence, ghostly memories of childhood. Flashbacks permeate the entire film, some of them resembling grainy 16 mm film while others drown in a digital haze, but this is not an elegy. Beneath the restrained performances of the non-professional actors and unassuming imagery lurks a palpable rage.

Merawi Gerima is a filmmaker from Washington, DC. Residue, his first feature, was a communal endeavour, made possible primarily by the efforts of the people it attempts to portray. Following its world premiere at the Slamdance Film Festival, Residue was honoured with the festival’s Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature and the Acting Award for star Obinna Nwachukwu.

Merawi Gerima is a filmmaker from Washington, DC. Residue, his first feature, was a communal endeavour, made possible primarily by the efforts of the people it attempts to portray. Following its world premiere at the Slamdance Film Festival, Residue was honoured with the festival’s Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature and the Acting Award for star Obinna Nwachukwu.

Year:
2020
Country:
USA
Length:
90'
Language:
English
Subtitles:
Russian
Director:
Мерави Герима
Script:
Merawi Gerima
Producer:
Merawi Gerima
Camera:
Mark Jeevaratnam
Cast:
Obinna Nwachukwu, Dennis Lindsey, Taline Stewart, Derron Scott
Prodcution:
ResidueDC
Watch
Echo of II NHIDFF in Moscow
Participants and winners of Main and Short Film Competitions and films from special programs
Learn more

En / Ru
logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Эхо II МФДКНГ в Москве 18+

Пятна

Мерави Герима
17 октября  20:30
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
20:30
БИЛЕТЫ
Смотреть
Приз жюри основного конкурса. Уроженец Вашингтона Джей выучился на режиссера в Калифорнии и возвращается в родной афроамериканский квартал, собираясь снять фильм про это место и его жителей. Вот только улицы, на которых он рос, не узнать, а старые знакомые встречают скепсисом и насмешками: «Думаешь, твой фильм может спасти нас? Или ты археолог, ищущий наши кости среди бетона?» Новые белые лица, неуместные и чужие, но более реальные, чем то, что Джей надеялся найти; друзья безрадостные, уехавшие, севшие в тюрьму; места, переставшие быть родными, — пространства в «Пятнах» наполнены фигурами отсутствия, призрачными воспоминаниями из детства. Флешбэки, то похожие на зернистую 16-мм пленку, то, напротив, утопленные в цифровом мареве, пронизывают весь фильм, но это не элегия: за сдержанной игрой непрофессиональных актеров и неброским изображением проступает ярость.

Режиссер из Вашингтона. «Пятна», его полнометражный дебют, появился в результате сотворчества с сообществом, изображенным в фильме. Мировая премьера состоялась на фестивале Slamdance, где картина получила приз зрительских симпатий как лучший игровой фильм, а исполнитель главной роли Обинна Нвачукву был удостоен награды как лучший актер.

Режиссер из Вашингтона. «Пятна», его полнометражный дебют, появился в результате сотворчества с сообществом, изображенным в фильме. Мировая премьера состоялась на фестивале Slamdance, где картина получила приз зрительских симпатий как лучший игровой фильм, а исполнитель главной роли Обинна Нвачукву был удостоен награды как лучший актер.

Год:
2020
Страна:
США
Длительность:
90'
Язык:
английский
Субтитры:
русские
Режиссер:
Мерави Герима
Сценарий:
Мерави Герима
Продюсер:
Мерави Герима
Камера:
Марк Дживаратнам
В ролях:
Обинна Нвачукву, Деннис Линдси, Талин Стюарт, Дэррон Скотт
Производство:
ResidueDC
Смотреть
Эхо II МФДКНГ в Москве
Участники и победители конкурсов полного и короткого метра, а также спецпрограмм фестиваля
Узнать больше