En / Ru
logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Short Film Competition Premiere 12+

Signal 8

Simon Liu
Watch
This urban symphony of Hong Kong in 2019 is full of glitches and flickers. These are the final moments of calm: both the film's director, Simon Liu, and the audience are already aware of the mass protests and political crisis to come, not to mention the intrusion of the pandemic. This sense of foreboding resonates with the name of the film: Hong Kong's emergency services issue the ‘signal 8’ as a sign of heightened alert before a natural disaster.

Simon Liu was raised between Hong Kong and Stoke-on-Trent, UK and now lives in Brooklyn, USA. Liu’s films and 16mm multiple projection performances have been presented at film festivals and institutions internationally, including Rotterdam, Toronto, Sundance and many others. In 2020, MoMA in New York will host a solo presentation of Liu’s films and performances as part of its ongoing Modern Mondays series. Liu is currently in the post-production stage of his first feature film, Staffordshire Hoard.

Simon Liu was raised between Hong Kong and Stoke-on-Trent, UK and now lives in Brooklyn, USA. Liu’s films and 16mm multiple projection performances have been presented at film festivals and institutions internationally, including Rotterdam, Toronto, Sundance and many others. In 2020, MoMA in New York will host a solo presentation of Liu’s films and performances as part of its ongoing Modern Mondays series. Liu is currently in the post-production stage of his first feature film, Staffordshire Hoard.

Year:
2019
Country:
Hong Kong, USA, United Kingdom
Length:
15'
Language:
No dialogue
Subtitles:
Director:
Simon Liu
Script:
Simon Liu
Producers:
Rachael Lawe, Michelle Miles
Cinematography:
Simon Liu
Music:
Felix Casaer
Watch
Short Film Competition
Fiction, documentary and experimental films in the shorts competition
Learn more

logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Конкурс короткого метра 12+

Сигнал 8

Саймон Лью
«Городская симфония» Гонконга в 2019 году полнится сбоями и мерцаниями. Это последние моменты спокойствия: и автор фильма Саймон Лью, и зрители уже знают о предстоящих массовых протестах и политическом кризисе, не говоря уже о вторжении в городскую жизнь эпидемии. Этим предчувствием резонирует название: у экстренных служб Гонконга «сигнал 8» — знак повышенной готовности к стихийному бедствию.

Саймон Лью провел детство между Гонконгом и Сток-он-Трентом в Великобритании, сейчас живет в Бруклине, США. Фильмы Лью, а также его перформансы с 16-мм проекцией показывали многие международные фестивали и институции, включая кинофестивали в Роттердаме, Торонто, «Сандэнс» и многие другие. В 2020 году в Музее современного искусства в Нью-Йорке состоится персональная презентация фильмов и проекций Лью в рамках выставочной серии музея Modern Mondays. Сейчас Лью работает над постпродакшеном своего первого полнометражного фильма «Стаффордширский клад».

Саймон Лью провел детство между Гонконгом и Сток-он-Трентом в Великобритании, сейчас живет в Бруклине, США. Фильмы Лью, а также его перформансы с 16-мм проекцией показывали многие международные фестивали и институции, включая кинофестивали в Роттердаме, Торонто, «Сандэнс» и многие другие. В 2020 году в Музее современного искусства в Нью-Йорке состоится персональная презентация фильмов и проекций Лью в рамках выставочной серии музея Modern Mondays. Сейчас Лью работает над постпродакшеном своего первого полнометражного фильма «Стаффордширский клад».

Год:
2019
Страна:
Гонконг, США, Великобритания
Длительность:
15'
Язык:
Без диалогов
Субтитры:
Режиссер:
Саймон Лью
Сценарий:
Саймон Лью
Продюсер:
Рейчел Лоу, Мишель Майлс
Оператор:
Саймон Лью
Музыка:
Джулия Блуп
Трейлер