En / Ru
logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Short Film Competition 12+

Mary, Mary, So Contrary / Mali Lianmenglu

Nelson Yeo
This found footage experiment by the Singaporean Nelson Yeo forces a collision between images of the East and the West. The main characters of the Hitchcock thriller The Lady Vanishes and the classic Chinese film Spring in a Small Town transform into the abstract Mary / Ma Li, one of whom dreams of the other. The ambiguity of this paradoxical construct starts with the title: Mary is a name replete with all kinds of connotations, from the Gospel to an English nursery rhyme.

Nelson Yeo is a Singaporean filmmaker. He graduated as a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Digital Filmmaking at Nanyang Technological University in 2011. He participated in Berlinale Talents Tokyo in 2014, BiFan Fantastic Film School in 2015 and the Locarno Filmmakers Academy in 2018. He is currently working on his debut feature film, which was selected to participate in the SGIFF Southeast Asian Film Lab in 2017.

Nelson Yeo is a Singaporean filmmaker. He graduated as a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Digital Filmmaking at Nanyang Technological University in 2011. He participated in Berlinale Talents Tokyo in 2014, BiFan Fantastic Film School in 2015 and the Locarno Filmmakers Academy in 2018. He is currently working on his debut feature film, which was selected to participate in the SGIFF Southeast Asian Film Lab in 2017.

Year:
2019
Country:
Singapore
Length:
15'
Language:
Chinese, English
Subtitles:
English
Director:
Nelson Yeo
Script:
Nelson Yeo
Producer:
Si En Tan
Cinematography:
Nelson Yeo
Music:
Teo Wei Yong
Short Film Competition
Fiction, documentary and experimental films in the shorts competition
Learn more

logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Конкурс короткого метра 12+

Мэри и наоборот

Нельсон Йео
Монтажный эксперимент сингапурца Нельсона Йео сталкивает образы восточного и западного миров. Главные героини хичкоковского триллера «Леди исчезает» и классического китайского фильма «Весна в городке» превращаются в абстрактную Мэри / Ма Ли, одна из которых снится другой. Многозначность этой парадоксальной конструкции начинается с названия: Мария — имя, в котором можно найти любые коннотации, от Евангелия до английского стишка-колыбельной.

Нельсон Йео — режиссер из Сингапура. Окончил программу цифрового кинематографа в Наньянском технологическом университете в 2011 году. Участвовал в программах Berlinale Talents Tokyo в 2014 году, BiFan Fantastic Film School в 2015-м и киноакадемии в Локарно в 2018-м. Сейчас Йео работает над своим первым полнометражным фильмом, который был отобран для лаборатории SGIFF Southeast Asian Film Lab в 2017 году.

Нельсон Йео — режиссер из Сингапура. Окончил программу цифрового кинематографа в Наньянском технологическом университете в 2011 году. Участвовал в программах Berlinale Talents Tokyo в 2014 году, BiFan Fantastic Film School в 2015-м и киноакадемии в Локарно в 2018-м. Сейчас Йео работает над своим первым полнометражным фильмом, который был отобран для лаборатории SGIFF Southeast Asian Film Lab в 2017 году.

Год:
2019
Страна:
Сингапур
Длительность:
15'
Язык:
Китайский, английский
Субтитры:
Английские
Режиссер:
Нельсон Йео
Сценарий:
Нельсон Йео
Продюсер:
Си Эн Тан
Оператор:
Нельсон Йео
Музыка:
Тео Вэй Юн
Трейлер