logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Jury Selection 16+

The Shift

Polina Kanis
One of the recent video works by Polina Kanis, the recipient of the Kandinsky Art Prize and the Sergey Kuryokhin Award for Contemporary Art. The piece explores how a closed system functions, as well as the idea of presence within and modifications to it.

The action in the video revolves around the former building of some kind of closed institution, where the staff are immersed in the ritual of carrying out their duties. Their only objective is to ensure the stability of a system through their physical presence. Everything proceeds in the usual fashion, and only in the final scene is the possibility of any change to the established order hinted at.

Polina Kanis was born in 1985 in Leningrad and graduated from the Rodchenko Art School in Moscow in 2011. That year she was awarded the Kandinsky Art Prize in the Young Artist. Project of the Year category for her video work Eggs (2010). In 2016 Kanis received the Sergey Kuryokhin Award for Contemporary Art in the Media Object category for The Pool (2015). Her work has been featured in numerous solo and group exhibitions, film festivals and other screenings. Her films are kept in the collections of museums and foundations including In Between Art Film in Rome, the Kadist Art Foundation in Paris, the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw and the State Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow among others. Kanis was a resident artist on the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten programme in Amsterdam from 2017 to 2018.

Polina Kanis was born in 1985 in Leningrad and graduated from the Rodchenko Art School in Moscow in 2011. That year she was awarded the Kandinsky Art Prize in the Young Artist. Project of the Year category for her video work Eggs (2010). In 2016 Kanis received the Sergey Kuryokhin Award for Contemporary Art in the Media Object category for The Pool (2015). Her work has been featured in numerous solo and group exhibitions, film festivals and other screenings. Her films are kept in the collections of museums and foundations including In Between Art Film in Rome, the Kadist Art Foundation in Paris, the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw and the State Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow among others. Kanis was a resident artist on the Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten programme in Amsterdam from 2017 to 2018.

Год:
2016
Страна:
Russia
Длительность:
28'
Язык:
No dialogue
Субтитры:
Режиссер:
Polina Kanis
Script:
Polina Kanis
Producers:
Konstantin Korobkin, Alya Lugovaya
Cinematography:
Evgeniy Rodin, Aleksey Kurbatov
Трейлер

logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Фильмы жюри 16+

Смена

Полина Канис
Одна из последних видеоработ художницы, обладательницы премий Кандинского и Курехина Полины Канис, исследующей функционирование закрытой системы и изменения в ней.

Действие видео разворачивается в здании бывшего учреждения закрытого типа, персонал которого погружен в ритуал выполнения своих обязанностей: их единственная цель — обеспечение стабильности системы своим физическим присутствием. Все идет своим чередом, и только в последней сцене возникает намек на возможность изменения устоявшегося порядка.

Полина Канис родилась в Ленинграде в 1985 году, в 2011-м окончила Московскую школу фотографии и мультимедиа им. А. Родченко. В том же году была удостоена премии Кандинского в номинации «Лучший молодой художник» за видео «Яйца» (2010). В 2016 году получила премию Сергея Курехина в номинации «Лучший медиаобъект» за видео «Бассейн» (2015). Ее работы были показаны в рамках множества персональных и групповых выставок и кинофестивалей. Фильмы Канис хранятся в коллекциях многочисленных музеев и фондов, в том числе в In Between Art Film в Риме, Kadist Art Foundation в Париже, Государственной Третьяковской галерее в Москве и других. В 2017–2018 годах Канис была резидентом программы Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten в Амстердаме. В настоящее время преподает в Школе Родченко.

Полина Канис родилась в Ленинграде в 1985 году, в 2011-м окончила Московскую школу фотографии и мультимедиа им. А. Родченко. В том же году была удостоена премии Кандинского в номинации «Лучший молодой художник» за видео «Яйца» (2010). В 2016 году получила премию Сергея Курехина в номинации «Лучший медиаобъект» за видео «Бассейн» (2015). Ее работы были показаны в рамках множества персональных и групповых выставок и кинофестивалей. Фильмы Канис хранятся в коллекциях многочисленных музеев и фондов, в том числе в In Between Art Film в Риме, Kadist Art Foundation в Париже, Государственной Третьяковской галерее в Москве и других. В 2017–2018 годах Канис была резидентом программы Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten в Амстердаме. В настоящее время преподает в Школе Родченко.

Год:
2016
Страна:
Россия
Длительность:
28'
Язык:
Без диалогов
Субтитры:
Режиссер:
Полина Канис
Сценарий:
Полина Канис
Продюсеры:
Константин Коробкин, Аля Луговая
Операторы:
Евгений Родин, Алексей Курбатов
Трейлер