En / Ru
logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Jury Selection 12+

Into Great Silence / Die große Stille

Philip Gröning
A documentary feature about a monastic order whose members keep a vow of silence. The film was awarded the Sundance Special Jury Prize. The action takes place at Grande Chartreuse, a secluded Carthusian monastery deep in the French Alps. There is almost no human speech in the entire film, and the silence is interrupted only by the ringing of bells. The film documents the everyday lives of a group of monks who live by twilight; the monastic cells are illuminated by candles alone. They sleep on benches covered in straw, and heat their dwellings with small tin stoves. The snow-capped Alps provide a magnificent backdrop to the sacred quest of the film’s subjects. By night, the monks gather in a stone chapel where the piercing cold prevails, sitting on the floor and singing Gregorian chants.

Philip Gröning is a director, screenwriter, cinematographer and composer. He began his career in film and television at the age of 19 while studying medicine and psychology in Munich, where he later joined the University of Television and Film. In 1986 he founded his own film company. His documentary Into Great Silence (2005) was awarded the Sundance Special Jury Prize, and his feature film debut The Policeman’s Wife (2013) was awarded the Venice Film Festival Special Jury Prize. Gröning is a member of the German and European Film Academies, a professor at the international filmschool cologne and a lecturer at the Film Academy Baden-Württemberg. More recently his work has focused primarily on contemporary art.

Philip Gröning is a director, screenwriter, cinematographer and composer. He began his career in film and television at the age of 19 while studying medicine and psychology in Munich, where he later joined the University of Television and Film. In 1986 he founded his own film company. His documentary Into Great Silence (2005) was awarded the Sundance Special Jury Prize, and his feature film debut The Policeman’s Wife (2013) was awarded the Venice Film Festival Special Jury Prize. Gröning is a member of the German and European Film Academies, a professor at the international filmschool cologne and a lecturer at the Film Academy Baden-Württemberg. More recently his work has focused primarily on contemporary art.

Year:
2005
Country:
Germany, France, Switzerland
Length:
162'
Language:
No dialogue
Subtitles:
Director:
Philip Gröning
Script:
Philip Gröning
Producers:
Philip Gröning, Michael Weber, Andres Pfäffli, Elda Guidinetti
Cinematography:
Philip Gröning
Jury Selection
Works by members of the two international juries
Learn more

logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Фильмы жюри 12+

Великое безмолвие

Филип Грёнинг
Документальная картина о монашеском ордене, члены которого хранят обет молчания, отмеченная специальным призом жюри «Сандэнса».

Действие фильма происходит в картезианском монастыре Гранд-Шартрез, затерянном во французских Альпах. На всем протяжении ленты зрители почти не слышат человеческой речи; тишину прерывает только звон колоколов. Фильм показывает каждодневную жизнь монахов, живущих в полумраке: кельи монастыря освещаются лишь свечами. Спят они на лавках, застеленных соломой, а свои жилища обогревают небольшими жестяными печками. Покрытые снегом Альпийские горы служат величественным фоном духовным поискам людей. По ночам монахи собираются в каменной часовне, где царит пронизывающий холод, садятся на пол и поют григорианские песнопения.

Филип Грёнинг — режиссер, сценарист, оператор и композитор. В 19 лет начал карьеру в кино и на телевидении, параллельно обучаясь медицине и психологии в Мюнхене, там же поступил в Академию кино и телевидения. В 1986 году основал собственную кинокомпанию. Его документальный фильм «Великое безмолвие» (2005) был отмечен Специальным призом жюри «Сандэнса», а игровой дебют «Жена полицейского» (2013) — Специальным призом жюри Венецианского кинофестиваля. Грёнинг — член Немецкой и Европейской киноакадемий, профессор Кельнской международной киношколы, преподаватель Киноакадемии Баден-Вюртемберга. В последнее время занимается преимущественно современным искусством.

Филип Грёнинг — режиссер, сценарист, оператор и композитор. В 19 лет начал карьеру в кино и на телевидении, параллельно обучаясь медицине и психологии в Мюнхене, там же поступил в Академию кино и телевидения. В 1986 году основал собственную кинокомпанию. Его документальный фильм «Великое безмолвие» (2005) был отмечен Специальным призом жюри «Сандэнса», а игровой дебют «Жена полицейского» (2013) — Специальным призом жюри Венецианского кинофестиваля. Грёнинг — член Немецкой и Европейской киноакадемий, профессор Кельнской международной киношколы, преподаватель Киноакадемии Баден-Вюртемберга. В последнее время занимается преимущественно современным искусством.

Год:
2005
Страна:
Германия, Франция, Швейцария
Длительность:
162'
Язык:
Без диалогов
Субтитры:
Режиссер:
Филип Грёнинг
Сценарий:
Филип Грёнинг
Продюсеры:
Филип Грёнинг, Михаэль Вебер, Андрес Пфаффли, Эльда Гвиднетти
Оператор:
Филип Грёнинг