logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Main Competition 16+

Slow Machine

Paul Felten, Joe DeNardo
The strange relationship between the actor Stephanie and an NYPD intelligence agent comes to a bitter end. Teetering on the verge of a nervous breakdown, she hides in a house where an indie band is in the process of recording an album. This escape brings her little satisfaction. Screenwriter Paul Felten and cinematographer Joe Denardo describe their debut as a screwball thriller, in the vein of the eccentric Hollywood comedies of the 1930s. The creators have also described their work as “Andy Warhol directs a Whit Stillman thriller”. Neither of these descriptions, however, does justice to this mysterious film about acting and surveillance. Felten and Denardo’s paranoid psychological rebus, shot on 16 mm, brings together a diverse range of influences from New York’s underground theatre scene (where the main actors come from) and the cinema of Rivette, Cassavetes and Robert Kramer to the music of Eleanor Friedberger (The Fiery Furnaces), who appears in the film. Chloë Sevigny is also on the credits.

Paul Felten (co-director, screenwriter) was born and raised in Reno, Nevada. He is a graduate of Columbia University’s MFA programme in film. A former director of the Olympia Film Festival, he is a Sundance Screenwriters Lab fellow and a recipient of the San Francisco Film Society’s Hearst Screenwriting Grant. He can also be found writing about film for The Brooklyn Rail and 4Columns.

Paul Felten (co-director, screenwriter) was born and raised in Reno, Nevada. He is a graduate of Columbia University’s MFA programme in film. A former director of the Olympia Film Festival, he is a Sundance Screenwriters Lab fellow and a recipient of the San Francisco Film Society’s Hearst Screenwriting Grant. He can also be found writing about film for The Brooklyn Rail and 4Columns.

Joe DeNardo (co-director, cinematographer) has been a member of the art-punk group Growing for 13 years and recently released the first album by Ornament, his solo project. He has directed and shot various music films, and was the subject of a retrospective at UnionDocs in Williamsburg, Brooklyn in 2014.

Joe DeNardo (co-director, cinematographer) has been a member of the art-punk group Growing for 13 years and recently released the first album by Ornament, his solo project. He has directed and shot various music films, and was the subject of a retrospective at UnionDocs in Williamsburg, Brooklyn in 2014.

Year of production:
2020
Country:
USA
Length:
72'
Language:
English
Subs:
Russian
Director:
Paul Felten, Joe DeNardo
Script:
Paul Felten
Producers:
Kyle Hepp, Shrihari Sathe, Caroline von Kuhn, Alex Witherill
Cinematography:
Joe DeNardo
Cast:
Stephanie Hayes, Chloë Sevigny, Scott Shepherd, Eleanor Friedberger, Ean Sheehy, Emily Tremaine
Trailer

logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Основной конкурс 16+

Медленная машина

Пол Фелтен, Джо Денардо
Странные отношения актрисы Стефани со специалистом по борьбе с терроризмом из Департамента полиции Нью-Йорка заканчиваются не самым лучшим образом — и она, балансируя на грани нервного срыва, прячется в доме, где малознакомая ей инди-группа записывает свой альбом. Этот побег не приносит ей большого удовлетворения. Сценарист Пол Фелтен и оператор Джо Денардо свой дебют описывают как «сумасбродный триллер» (screwball thriller) — по аналогии с эксцентрическими голливудскими комедиями тридцатых. Есть и еще одна формула, которая использовалась в работе: Энди Уорхол ставит триллер Уита Стиллмана. Но и то и другое далеко от исчерпывающего описания этого загадочного фильма об актерстве и слежке. В снятом на 16 мм параноидальном психологическом ребусе Фелтена и Денардо сошлось много разных влияний: от андерграундной нью-йоркской театральной сцены (откуда и главные актеры), кинематографа Риветта, Кассаветиса и Роберта Крамера до музыки Элеанор Фридбергер (The Fiery Furnaces), которая присутствует в кадре. Среди других исполнителей — Хлоя Севиньи.

Пол Фелтен (режиссер, сценарист) родился и вырос в Рино, штат Невада. Выпускник программы по кинематографу Колумбийского университета. Бывший директор кинофестиваля в Олимпии (Вашингтон, США), участник лаборатории сценаристов «Сандэнс» и получатель гранта The San Francisco Film Society’s Hearst Screenwriting Grant. Также иногда пишет о фильмах для The Brooklyn Rail и 4Columns.

Пол Фелтен (режиссер, сценарист) родился и вырос в Рино, штат Невада. Выпускник программы по кинематографу Колумбийского университета. Бывший директор кинофестиваля в Олимпии (Вашингтон, США), участник лаборатории сценаристов «Сандэнс» и получатель гранта The San Francisco Film Society’s Hearst Screenwriting Grant. Также иногда пишет о фильмах для The Brooklyn Rail и 4Columns.

Джо Денардо (режиссер, оператор) в течение 13 лет был участником арт-панк-группы Growing и недавно выпустил первый альбом своего сольного проекта Ornament. Снимал музыкальные фильмы и участвовал в ретроспективе UnionDocs в Нью-Йорке в 2014 году.

Джо Денардо (режиссер, оператор) в течение 13 лет был участником арт-панк-группы Growing и недавно выпустил первый альбом своего сольного проекта Ornament. Снимал музыкальные фильмы и участвовал в ретроспективе UnionDocs в Нью-Йорке в 2014 году.

Год:
2020
Страна:
США
Длительность:
72'
Язык:
Английский
Субтитры:
Русские
Режиссер:
Пол Фелтен, Джо Денардо
Сценарий:
Пол Фелтен
Продюсеры:
Кайл Хепп, Шрихари Сатхе, Кэролайн фон Кун, Алекс Уитрилл
Оператор:
Джо ДеНардо
В ролях:
Стефани Хейс, Хлоя Севиньи, Скотт Шеперд, Элеанор Фридбергер, Эан Шихи, Эмили Тремейн
Трейлер