logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Echo at Garage Screen 18+

IWOW: I Walk on Water

Khalik Allah
Fri  4 September  19:30
Garage Screen summer cinema
19:30
Tickets
Premiere

By night, the streets of Harlem are filled with lost souls. Bodies floating in the dark and carrying the weight of the past on their shoulders. Frenchie, a Haitian man, is one of them, the product of years of wandering and humiliation. In his hypnotic film Khalik Allah, who began his career as a photographer for the Wu-Tang Clan, takes the American tradition of street photography to a new artistic level. His portrayal of the inhabitants of New York’s mean streets is more reminiscent of religious painting than socially conscious art (his closest Russian counterpart is Artur Aristakisyan). For Allah, who is half Iranian and half Jamaican, Frenchie is not simply a victim of oppression, but a symbol of spiritual strength and purity. Shot on 8 mm, 16 mm and video and clocking in at 200 minutes, IWOW /em>is edited like a hip hop mixtape, putting the viewer in a trance whether they start watching from the beginning or the middle of the film. This personal manifesto has become an unwitting response to the Black Lives Matter movement, and understands the word black to stand primarily for spiritual experience.

Khalik Allah, born in 1985, is a New York-based photographer and filmmaker. His passion for photography was sparked when he began photographing members of the Wu-Tang Clan with a camera he borrowed from his father. His first feature documentary, Field Niggas (2014), shot at nighttime on the corner of Harlem’s 125th Street and Lexington Avenue, was a stunningly raw symphony of Harlem street life that became a sensation on the festival circuit. Allah worked as a cinematographer and assistant director for Beyoncé’s video album Lemonade and his second documentary, Black Mother (2018), won the Yellow Robin Award at the Curaçao International Film Festival Rotterdam in 2018. His latest work, IWOW: I Walk On Water (2020), was selected for CPH:DOX 2020.

Khalik Allah, born in 1985, is a New York-based photographer and filmmaker. His passion for photography was sparked when he began photographing members of the Wu-Tang Clan with a camera he borrowed from his father. His first feature documentary, Field Niggas (2014), shot at nighttime on the corner of Harlem’s 125th Street and Lexington Avenue, was a stunningly raw symphony of Harlem street life that became a sensation on the festival circuit. Allah worked as a cinematographer and assistant director for Beyoncé’s video album Lemonade and his second documentary, Black Mother (2018), won the Yellow Robin Award at the Curaçao International Film Festival Rotterdam in 2018. His latest work, IWOW: I Walk On Water (2020), was selected for CPH:DOX 2020.

Год:
2020
Страна:
USA
Длительность:
200'
Язык:
English
Субтитры:
Russian
Режиссер:
Khalik Allah
Producers:
Sofian Khan, Vikki Tobak
Cinematography:
Khalik Allah
Music:
4th Disciple
Трейлер

logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Эхо в Garage Screen 18+

IWOW: я иду по воде

Халик Аллах
Пт  4 сентября  19:30
Летний кинотеатр Garage Screen
19:30
Билеты
Премьера

По ночам улицы Гарлема заполняют потерянные души. Тела, плывущие в темноте и несущие тяжесть прошлого на своих плечах. Гаитянин Френчи — один из них, прошедший через годы скитаний и унижений. В своем гипнотическом фильме Халик Аллах, начинавший фотографом Wu-Tang Clan, выводит американскую традицию уличной фотографии на новый художественный уровень. То, как он снимает обитателей злых улиц Нью-Йорка, напоминает скорее религиозную живопись, чем социальное искусство (его ближайший соратник в России — Артур Аристакисян). Для Аллаха — наполовину иранца, наполовину ямайца — Френчи оказывается не просто жертвой угнетения, а символом духовной силы и чистоты. 200-минутный IWOW, соединяющий 8 мм, 16 мм, видео и смонтированный как хип-хоп-микстейп, вводит в транс, смотреть его можно с любого места. Этот персональный манифест стал невольным ответом на движение Black Lives Matter, в интерпретации которого за словом black стоит в первую очередь духовный опыт.

Халик Аллах (род. 1985) — нью-йоркский фотограф и кинорежиссер. Начал заниматься фотографией, снимая членов Wu-Tang Clan на камеру, которую занял у отца. Его первый полнометражный документальный фильм Field Niggas (2014), снятый ночью на углу 125-й улицы Гарлема и Лексингтон-авеню, был ошеломляюще откровенной одой уличной жизни Гарлема и произвел фурор в фестивальных кругах. Аллах работал в качестве оператора и помощника режиссера над видеоальбомом Бейонсе Lemonade, а его второй документальный фильм, Black Mother (2018), получил награду Yellow Robin Award на Роттердамском международном кинофестивале в Кюрасао в 2018-м. Его последняя работа «IWOW: я иду по воде» (2020) вошла в программу Международного фестиваля документального кино в Копенгагене 2020.

Халик Аллах (род. 1985) — нью-йоркский фотограф и кинорежиссер. Начал заниматься фотографией, снимая членов Wu-Tang Clan на камеру, которую занял у отца. Его первый полнометражный документальный фильм Field Niggas (2014), снятый ночью на углу 125-й улицы Гарлема и Лексингтон-авеню, был ошеломляюще откровенной одой уличной жизни Гарлема и произвел фурор в фестивальных кругах. Аллах работал в качестве оператора и помощника режиссера над видеоальбомом Бейонсе Lemonade, а его второй документальный фильм, Black Mother (2018), получил награду Yellow Robin Award на Роттердамском международном кинофестивале в Кюрасао в 2018-м. Его последняя работа «IWOW: я иду по воде» (2020) вошла в программу Международного фестиваля документального кино в Копенгагене 2020.

Год:
2020
Страна:
США
Длительность:
200'
Язык:
Английский
Субтитры:
Русские
Режиссер:
Халик Аллах
Продюсеры:
Софиэн Хан, Викки Тобак
Оператор:
Халик Аллах
Музыка:
4th Disciple
Трейлер