logo
En / Ru
Menu
Close
Echo at Garage Screen

Eurasia (Questions on Happiness)

Metahaven
Mon 31 August  19:30
Garage Screen summer cinema
19:30
Tickets
Premiere screening with discussion

Assembling cinematic sequences shot in the Southeastern Urals and in Macedonia, archival footage and animation, Eurasia (Questions on Happiness) sets forth on a journey towards the Eurasian steppe where it meets the New Silk Road. Imagining a fractured continent in the thrall of self-learning data sites that trigger world events, the film confronts various forms of hoax, from cut and paste political doctrines to neo-classical facade architectures. Through modes of science fiction, documentary, and folk tale, Eurasia creates an immersion within layers of media production, wrapping facts in fictions, and fictions in facts. A plunge into the mental and political space of Eurasia.

The work of Metahaven consists of filmmaking, writing, and design. Films by Metahaven include The Sprawl (Propaganda about Propaganda) (2015), Information Skies (2016, nominated for the 2017 European Film Awards), Hometown (2018), and Eurasia (Questions on Happiness) (2018). Recent publications include PSYOP: An Anthology (Koenig Books, London, 2018), and Digital Tarkovsky (Strelka Press, Moscow, 2018). In the long essay Digital Tarkovsky Metahaven identify online experience as a slow, cinematic proceeding, projecting the textures and motifs of Andrei Tarkovsky as a deeper artifice of digital aesthetics and filmmaking. Metahaven teach at Strelka Institute, Moscow, and are advisors at Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Amsterdam.

The work of Metahaven consists of filmmaking, writing, and design. Films by Metahaven include The Sprawl (Propaganda about Propaganda) (2015), Information Skies (2016, nominated for the 2017 European Film Awards), Hometown (2018), and Eurasia (Questions on Happiness) (2018). Recent publications include PSYOP: An Anthology (Koenig Books, London, 2018), and Digital Tarkovsky (Strelka Press, Moscow, 2018). In the long essay Digital Tarkovsky Metahaven identify online experience as a slow, cinematic proceeding, projecting the textures and motifs of Andrei Tarkovsky as a deeper artifice of digital aesthetics and filmmaking. Metahaven teach at Strelka Institute, Moscow, and are advisors at Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Amsterdam.

Год:
2018
Страна:
The Netherlands
Длительность:
64'
Язык:
Russian, French, English, German
Субтитры:
Russian
Режиссер:
Metahaven
Script:
Metahaven
Producer:
Richard Birkett
Cinematography:
Dima Mishin, Dimitar Popov, Remko Schnorr
Music:
Kuedo, with contributions by J.G. Biberkopf
Cast:
Ilya Lim, Lucie de Bréchard, Timur Saulebaev

logo
En / Ru
Меню
Закрыть
Эхо в Garage Screen

Евразия (Вопросы о счастье)

Metahaven
Пн 31 августа  19:30
Летний кинотеатр Garage Screen
19:30
Билеты
Кадры, снятые на юго-восточном Урале и в Северной Македонии, соседствующие с архивными изображениями и анимацией, отправляют зрителя в евразийскую степь — туда, где пролегает Новый шелковый путь. Воображая разобщенный континент, находящийся под контролем самообучающихся data-центров, которые запускают события мирового масштаба, фильм обнажает различные формы мистификации: от шаблонных политических доктрин до неоклассических архитектурных фасадов. Используя форматы научной фантастики, документалистики и народных сказаний, «Евразия» погружает на разные уровни медиапроизводства, оборачивающего факты в вымысел, а вымысел — в факты. Изначально созданная голландским коллективом художников и дизайнеров как инсталляция, «Евразия» — попытка представить евразийство в качестве ландшафта: политического, ментального и виртуального.

Metahaven занимаются фильмами, текстами и дизайном. Их фильмография включает в себя «Расползание (Пропаганда о пропаганде)» (2015), «Небеса информации» (2016, номинирован на премию Европейской киноакадемии в 2017 году), «Родной город» (2018) и «Евразия (Вопросы о счастье)» (2018). Среди последних публикаций «PSYOP: Антология» (Koenig Books, Лондон, 2018) и Digital Tarkovsky (Strelka Press, Москва, 2018). В развернутом эссе Digital Tarkovsky Metahaven определяют онлайн-опыт как медленный, кинематографический процесс, представляя текстуры и мотивы Андрея Тарковского как глубинное предвосхищение цифровой эстетики и цифрового кинопроизводства. Metahaven преподают в Институте «Стрелка» в Москве и являются консультантами в Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Амстердам.

Metahaven занимаются фильмами, текстами и дизайном. Их фильмография включает в себя «Расползание (Пропаганда о пропаганде)» (2015), «Небеса информации» (2016, номинирован на премию Европейской киноакадемии в 2017 году), «Родной город» (2018) и «Евразия (Вопросы о счастье)» (2018). Среди последних публикаций «PSYOP: Антология» (Koenig Books, Лондон, 2018) и Digital Tarkovsky (Strelka Press, Москва, 2018). В развернутом эссе Digital Tarkovsky Metahaven определяют онлайн-опыт как медленный, кинематографический процесс, представляя текстуры и мотивы Андрея Тарковского как глубинное предвосхищение цифровой эстетики и цифрового кинопроизводства. Metahaven преподают в Институте «Стрелка» в Москве и являются консультантами в Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Амстердам.

Год:
2018
Страна:
Нидерланды
Длительность:
64'
Язык:
Русский, французский, английский, немецкий
Субтитры:
Русские
Режиссер:
Metahaven
Сценарий:
Metahaven
Продюсер:
Ричард Биркетт
Операторы:
Дима Мишин, Димитар Попов, Ремко Шнорр
Музыка:
Kuedo, при участии Ж. Г. Биберкопфа
В ролях:
Илья Лим, Люси де Брешар, Тимур Саулебаев